A large part of the post-GDPR world of data management is concerned with happens to old data. Enter automatic contact archiving. Nested within the Data Security Preferences centre, auto contact archiving is a holistic solution to automatically purge your account of historical data which has no value or need. Note: this feature is only available for GeckoProtect users.

To make use of this feature, head to Settings > Data Security Preferences > Preferences

At the top of the Data & Privacy Settings page is a toggle, entitled Automatically Archive Old Data. Set this toggle to 'on'. A second toggle will now appear which allows you to specify when you'd like your contact data to be archived - after 6 months, 1 year, 2 years or 3 years.  

A contact is archived when an account hasn't had any activity (defined as contacts who have not; submitted any form responses, been manually updated by Gecko users, been messaged or have had a call logged within Gecko) 

If a contact is unresponsive for the time period you set, their contact will be removed from the active Contacts and placed in the Deleted Contacts for a period of 15 days, after which the contact will be purged. 

Any questions? Feel free to start a live chat with a member of our support team or explore the rest of our academy at your leisure.

Did this answer your question?